Learn — By WATMM Desk —
Splice alternatives and their licences: what you keep after you cancel
Sample subscriptions look alike until you cancel or release a record. We read the terms and help pages of Splice, Loopcloud and Tracklib on 24 Oct 2026 to answer three questions: what licence you get, what survives cancelling, and what you still owe once your track is out.
Key facts
- Splice: its help centre says licences for sounds already in your library last in perpetuity after cancelling, but unused credits expire 28 days after your final billing period.
- Loopcloud: its plans page says you keep points and purchases if you cancel, but Cloud Storage files may be deleted after 90 days.
- Tracklib: sampling real recordings is not royalty-free. You register each release on its Licenses page and share a small percentage of income with the sampled artists.
Most "Splice alternatives" lists are written by the alternatives. Loopcloud publishes its own list and RouteNote recommends its own tool. Those lists compare catalogue size and price. They rarely tell you what an artist needs before a release: what licence you hold, what you lose when you stop paying, and whether anyone takes a cut of your royalties.
So this guide skips sound quality, which is a matter of taste, and reads the paperwork. We read each service's terms, plans page or help centre on 24 Oct 2026. Terms change, so check the live page before you rely on any of this. This is a practical guide, not legal advice.
The three questions to ask any sample service
- What does the licence let me do? Using a sound inside your own track is usually fine. Reselling it, packing it into your own sample pack, or feeding it to an AI model usually is not.
- What survives cancelling? There are three separate things here: the licence on sounds you already downloaded, the files themselves, and any unused credits or points.
- What do I owe after release? A royalty-free loop costs nothing more once you have it. A sample of a real recording usually carries an ongoing share of your income.
Splice
The licence. Splice's Terms of Use grant "a non-exclusive, non-transferable, perpetual right to use Sounds" in your new recordings and creative works, and say plainly that "you will not own the Sounds". You may not resell or share sounds on their own, put them in new sample packs, or use them "as source or training material for generative or other types of artificial intelligence models".
After cancelling. Splice's help centre says you keep your subscription and credits until the end of the billing cycle. After that, unused credits expire 28 days after your final billing period, and you can reclaim them only by resubscribing within that window. You can still browse your library and re-download sounds already in it, but new downloads need an active subscription. The licences for content already in your library are permanent.
One wrinkle: the Terms also say that when "any Services" end, your right to use them ends, "including any saved Sounds and Stacks". We read that as covering the service rather than sounds you already put in a released track, and the help centre supports that reading. If a big release depends on it, ask Splice in writing.
What you owe. Nothing ongoing for catalogue sounds. Splice's newer AI tools pay the original sample creator per use, which we covered in our Variations piece, but that payment comes out of your credits, not your royalties.
Loopcloud
After cancelling. Loopcloud's plans page says: "You won't lose any points or purchases if you cancel." Sounds you bought through Loopcloud or Loopmasters stay yours, and unspent points roll over and wait for you if you come back. That is a real difference from Splice, where unused credits expire.
The catch is storage. The same page says files in Cloud Storage are kept for up to 90 days after you cancel and may then be deleted. Download what you use to your own drive.
Price. The plans page lists Artist at $10.95 a month, Studio at $16.95 and Professional at $24.95, with cheaper annual billing.
The licence. Loopcloud's licence agreement sits on the Loopmasters help centre, which blocked us when we tried to read it. Read it yourself before you sign up, in particular what it says about AI training and redistribution.
Tracklib
Tracklib is a different kind of service. Alongside royalty-free one-shots and loops, which it calls Sounds, it licenses samples of real released recordings. That is the part a loop library can't give you, and it changes what you owe.
The licence. According to Tracklib's How it works page, the Create plan includes "sample clearance with no upfront fee", and clearances use your credits. You register your release and how it uses the sample on the Licenses page to get your licence. You then share a small percentage of potential income with the sampled artists, which the page says most major distributors can set up automatically. Sounds are royalty-free and need no clearance.
Price. The pricing page lists Create at $8.99 a month when billed yearly ($107.88 a year) with up to 200 downloads, and Play at $7.99 a month on the same yearly billing with up to 50; monthly billing costs more.
After cancelling. Neither page says what happens to licences or downloads when a subscription ends, and we could not open Tracklib's support articles. Because a real-recording sample brings an ongoing royalty share, get the cancellation terms in writing before you build a release around one.
Side by side
| Splice | Loopcloud | Tracklib | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licence on downloaded sounds after cancelling | Perpetual, per its help centre | Purchases kept, per its plans page | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Unused credits or points | Expire 28 days after the final period | Kept until you return | Not stated |
| Ongoing share of your income | None for catalogue sounds | None stated | Yes, on samples of real recordings |
| AI training use | Prohibited in its Terms | Licence not readable to us | Not stated on the pages we read |
A checklist before you cancel any of them
- Spend or write off your credits before the billing date. On Splice they are lost 28 days later.
- Download every sound you have used in a project to your own drive, and back up the project files.
- Save a copy of the licence page and help article as they read on the day you cancel, with the date. If the terms change later, you have a record of what you agreed to.
- For any track with a cleared sample, keep the licence document and check the royalty split is set up with your distributor.
What we think
Most sample libraries now give a licence that outlives the subscription. That used to be the main fear, and on the pages we read it has mostly gone. The real differences are smaller and easy to miss.
Expiring credits are the clearest. Splice's rule that unused credits die 28 days after you leave is legal and disclosed, but it pushes you to stay subscribed or rush downloads. Loopcloud keeping points while you're away is better for an artist whose output is seasonal, and that describes most independent producers.
The second is the AI clause. Splice's ban on using sounds as AI training material protects the sound designers whose work fills the catalogue, and we think that's right. It also means some producers' new workflows, such as training a personal model on their own sample folder, may break the licence. Read that clause before you train anything.
The third is where these services stop looking alike. A royalty-free loop and a cleared sample of a real record are different deals, and Tracklib is honest that the second costs you a share of the income. If you want the sound of a real record, that share is the fair price. Just know it before the record is out, not after.
Finally, none of these services make the cancellation rules easy to find. Each one should put them on one page, beside the price.
Sources
- Terms of Use, Splice (primary source). Accessed 24 Oct 2026.
- If I cancel my subscription, do I lose my samples and credits?, Splice Help Center (primary source). Accessed 24 Oct 2026.
- Loopcloud plans, Loopmasters (primary source). Accessed 24 Oct 2026.
- How it works, Tracklib (primary source). Accessed 24 Oct 2026.
- Pricing, Tracklib (primary source). Accessed 24 Oct 2026.
Researched with AI assistance, written and checked by WATMM Desk.